Posted in Christianity, Thoughts

Even So

And Lord, haste the day when the faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
“Even so,” it is well with my soul.

The “Even so” in the last verse of “It Is Well With My Soul” bothered me for a long time. It sounds like it’s saying that despite all this happening, it is well with my soul. That doesn’t make sense. If you’re a Christian, Jesus coming back is a good thing.

Then it occurred to me that it was odd for those two words to be in quotation marks.

Then I had a Thought.

He who testifies to these things says, “Surely I am coming quickly.”
Amen. Even so, come, Lord Jesus!
– Revelation 22:20

I think it’s intended to refer to that Bible verse. Making it an affirmation that this is a good thing.

I felt a lot better about that verse of the song after this Thought.

One thought on “Even So

Leave a comment