Posted in Christianity, College, Life

Alphabetical Music – Part 2

Part 1

 

Now and for Always – The Lord of the Rings Musical
What’s not to love about a song celebrating Hobbits?

 

On My Way Home – Pentatonix
This is the other song I discovered the week I helped with Expressions at my college. It was used in a skit and was very cool and I knew I had to find it. It’s beautiful and impressive (that’s all voices, no instruments) and important.

 

Poet – Bastille
Bastille has some good stuff. Their songs have depth. This one is about writing about people you love as a way to make sure they’re remembered.

 

Quiet – Lights
It’s just so cute and happy.

 

Reckless – Martina McBride
Martina McBride looks a lot like one of my fictional characters. This song fits said character and her husband perfectly. That was an exciting discovery.

 

Still – Hillsong United (This version is sung by Kaoma)
This is my favorite of the songs I learned in chapel at college. I love it. It can make me teary. Unfortunately, I never encounter anyone else who knows it now.

 

Tear Up This Town – Keane
This is from A Monster Calls, a fantastic movie that came out a couple weeks ago. The movie is beautiful and possibly the best movie adaption of a book I’ve ever seen. I highly recommend it. Just be prepared to cry a lot.

 

Unwritten – Natasha Bedingfield
This song is cheesy. But I love it. And it’s a lot of fun to sing. It’s about how real life if unpredictable and the future isn’t known, but it’s also great for writing stories.

 

Voices – Celtic Thunder
This was the first song performed at the first Celtic Thunder concert I went to. It’s pretty epic-sounding, so it made for an excellent start. I’m not sure I breathed much during this one.

 

Where – Lisbeth Scott
This is from the soundtrack of The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. It’s such a pretty song. My friend Maria and I have always been of the opinion that it’s much too short. Then one day we discovered that a longer version does exist. But it doesn’t have the gorgeous harmony in the one part, so it wasn’t quite a worthwhile trade.

 

Dear X, You Don’t Own Me – Disciple
Okay, I cheated slightly on this one. Sorry. It’s a very cool song though. It’s like a breakup song, but it’s addressed to issues like anger and shame. It’s quite clever. And satisfying to sing loudly in the car.

 

You’ll Be in my Heart – Phil Collins
This song from Tarzan is so sweet. I haven’t seen the movie for years and years, but I like several of the songs from it.

 

Zelda’s Lullaby – Violin cover by Taylor Davis
Let’s end with some video game music! Because it is very pretty. And because Z is hard.

Leave a Reply

