Posted in Life, Thoughts

It Takes a Long Time to Grow an Old Friend

The most beautiful discovery true friends make is that they can grow separately without growing apart. – Elisabeth Foley

I spent this past weekend with my friend Maria, one of the coolest people ever. You all wish you had such good friends.

I met Maria at homeschool group in fourth grade, almost 12 years ago. Sometimes we reflect on the fact that it was less than four years later that I moved, and we’re rather shocked that such a small amount of our friendship was spent living in the same town.

After that, we wrote a lot of letters. They’re scattered throughout my entire room. Lately I’ve been gathering them into one spot whenever I come across them, and I’m amassing an impressive collection. We could have talked on the phone, I suppose, but neither of us likes that method of communication, so we didn’t. We wrote letters, and we had occasional wonderful get-togethers, sometimes including other friends (especially Nicole), sometimes just us.

When we had been friends for a decade, which was more than half of our lives, I decided that we could officially say we’re old friends even though we’re not old. However, we fully intend to be friends until we are old.

I am so incredibly thankful to have her in my life.

Leave a Reply

