Posted in Life, Thoughts

Relationship Advice from Someone Who Has Never Been in a Relationship

Said someone referring to both me and (at the time, at least) the person from whom I originally got this tidbit of wisdom.

It was years ago, actually, at church camp. Some friends and I were talking about boys, because that happens. My cabin mate asked, “What would be a deal breaker for you in a guy?” Before anyone responded, she added, “Let me put it this way: What would be a deal breaker in the father of your future children?”

It stuck with me; I think it’s a fantastic attitude to have. I was blessed with a dad who gave me incredibly high standards for guys, but not everyone was, and in general, I think, people are more protective of their children than they are of themselves. Something you might tolerate can instantly seem unacceptable if you consider children.

So if you’re in or considering a relationship with someone who has qualities that you don’t want your future children to deal with, it might be time to reconsider.

3 thoughts on “Relationship Advice from Someone Who Has Never Been in a Relationship

Leave a Reply

