Posted in Christianity, Life, Thoughts

The Small Things

The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working. – James 5:16b

Years ago, I heard a preacher talk about how he prays whenever he hears an ambulance or a fire truck or things like that. I decided I was going to adopt the habit, and I did. I don’t know how many short prayers for safety I’ve offered – often distractedly – since then.

I was thinking about this recently and realizing I have no idea how God has answered any of those prayers. Not one of them. I never see what comes of random sirens in the distance.

But I don’t doubt that God has answered those prayers. Who knows what has come of them? Who knows if I’ll ever find out?

I don’t say this as a look-how-good-I-am sort of thing. I say it because for me it’s been a reminder that something I do that seems insignificant to me may have infinite repercussions that I never see. And we all need to be reminded of this once in a while.

Saruman believes that it is only great power that can hold evil in check, but that is not what I have found. I’ve found it is the small things, everyday deeds of ordinary folk, that keeps the darkness at bay. Simple acts of kindness and love. – Gandalf in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

2 thoughts on “The Small Things

Leave a Reply

