Posted in Life

Many Times, Many Ways

“The Christmas Song” is probably my favorite Christmas song. I like the simplicity of it, the way it summarizes the feeling of the holiday in a few succinct descriptions.

I have no idea what chestnuts roasted on an open fire would taste like. (For that matter, I’m not sure I’ve ever even eaten chestnuts.) But I really want to find out.

It’s almost Christmas. And we are approaching the end of a Tuesday that, for me, has not felt like a Tuesday at all. So I’m just going to leave with with the ending sentiment of this song, because I couldn’t really say it any better.

And so I’m offering this simple phrase
To kids from 1 to 92:
Although it’s been said many times, many ways,
Merry Christmas to you.

2 thoughts on “Many Times, Many Ways

  1. When I was a kid, we always got a kick out of singing it, “Jack Frost roasting o’er an open fire/Chestnuts nipping at your nose.” We also made up an entire fictional family of Frosts to accompany Jack, though they stayed away from the open fire.

Leave a Reply

