Posted in Life

Ten Memorable Books

There’s been a Thing going around on Facebook of posting as your status ten books that have stuck with you. As you might imagine, I quite approve of this Thing. I’ve been challenged three times. But I haven’t done it yet. Part of this is because it was kind of a daunting task, but it’s also partly because when another friend of mine turned hers into a blog post, I decided I wanted to do that, too, and I’ve been waiting for an unclaimed Tuesday.

I’m leaving the Bible off this list. Even though it is a good, memorable book, it’s kind in its own category. Because it would be important whether I liked it or not. That is not the case with other books.

But anyway. Here goes. Not necessarily in any particular order:

1. The Lord of the Rings – J. R. R. Tolkien
I somehow have a favorite book, and this is it. I’m currently working on my ninth read through in eight years. I love it. I love the detail. I love the characters. I love how you can tell there’s so much history behind the story. And at this point, I love that I actually understand a lot of that history. And that parts of it are so achingly familiar. I’m very glad to have it in my life.

2. Redigging the Wells – Monroe Hawley
I’m going to quote my Goodreads review for this one: “The teacher of the class for which I read this book [Doctrinal Issues] said that when he first read it, he highlighted so many things that the highlighting became ineffectual. Although I’ve yet to convince myself to highlight books, I’d have had about the same result. I took about five pages of notes, most of which are direct quotes. I learned a lot from this book, and it has way more than I can absorb with one reading. I won’t be selling this one back.” In short, I need to reread it, and I recommend it.

3. Princess Academy – Shannon Hale
This book is practically perfect. The characters, the story, the writing style, the touch of fantasy, the hint of a future romance, the relationships… I love it. A lot. There’s actually a fairly new sequel, but I’m afraid to read it. The first one has such a perfect ending that I’m afraid anything else would ruin it. So I may never read the sequel. And I think I’ll be quite happy that way.

4. The Time Keeper – Mitch Albom
I feel a little funny putting this one on here, because I’ve only read it once, and I don’t actually remember much about it. But I remember devouring it and loving it. And I remember that the moment I finished it, it went on my mental to-be-reread list. I even asked for – and received – a copy for my most recent birthday, so hopefully I can actually get around to that, and it will be as good the second time through.

5. Somebody and the Three Blairs – Marilyn Tolhurst
This is a children’s book where a bear visits the house of three people in a twist on Goldilocks and the Three Bears. It’s such a fun book. And I still quote it pretty frequently: “‘Lotta watta!’ said baby Blair.” So I think you could say it was memorable.

6. Matched – Ally Condie
The whole trilogy, actually, though the first one was my favorite. I really, really loved the way the author had with words. In the third book (spoilers, if you care), the chapters switched between the viewpoints of the three main characters, and at one point one of them was very ill. To the point of not being conscious for a while. And when he reached that point, he still had a chapter, but it was just a blank page. I had to put the book down in awe for a moment. It was such a little thing, but it said so much. It would have been easy and perfectly understandable to just skip the chapter that was supposed to be his. But that blank page… Okay. I’ll move on now. XD

7. Mansfield Park – Jane Austen
This is the first Jane Austen book I read. A friend’s mom told me all about it one day, and I decided I needed to read it. I loved it. It’s not Austen’s most well-known book. I think the main character tends to be not terribly well-liked because she’s very quiet and shy and doesn’t really stand up for herself. But she’s also incredibly sweet. And I love it.

8. My Life as a Doormat (In Three Acts) – Rene Gutteridge
First off, Rene Gutteridge is an excellent author. You know how some authors produce decent stories but they all kind of sound the same? She’s not like that. At all.
But anyway. It’s probably a bit pathetic just how much I could relate to the main character in this story. Which is probably a significant part of why I liked it so much. I devoured it in – I think – a day the first time I read it.

9. Johnny Tremain – Esther Forbes
My mom read this out loud to my brother and me for school, and we all really liked it. We kept it, and I’ve reread it several times. It’s been quite a while since I did, and I should fix that. It’s an excellent piece of historical fiction.

10. Mars Diaries – Sigmund Brouwer
There are ten books in this series, the first being Oxygen Level Zero. They’re all incredibly short kid’s books. If I didn’t do much else, I could probably read them all in a day. I love them. They start out kind of simplistic and episodic and then IT’S ALL CONNECTED AND COMPLICATED AND WHAT IS GOING ON.

And One to Grow On: The Man Who Never Was – Ewen Montagu
This one is the extra because it’s kind of cheating, as I saw – and loved – the movie first without even knowing there was a book. But it’s a true story. And it’s fascinating. Go read it. Or watch the movie. Or do both.

Leave a Reply

