Posted in Christianity, Thoughts

The Good Book

“The Good Book” is a fairly common name for the Bible. But you know, we don’t really think of it as a good book.

When I call a book a good book, I generally mean that I enjoyed reading it, it had insightful moments, I would like to read it again someday, and I would recommend it to other people.

How many people actually feel that way about the Bible? I get the impression that most people think of it as a dry, dusty tome that’s important but not very interesting.

But I realized something recently: I’ve been reading the Bible pretty much every day for about eight years. And I’m not tired of it. And the more I do it, the more I genuinely enjoy it. Sure, there are parts I have more trouble liking than others, and some days I have more trouble focusing than other days, but that’s the case with other good books, too.

I am discovering that the Bible is, indeed, a good book.

One thought on “The Good Book

Leave a Reply

