Posted in Writings

Blind Date

No post idea is appealing to me today, so I’m pulling out something I wrote about a year ago. The prompt was to write about a blind date between two fictional characters. I chose Clara, the current companion on Doctor Who; and the Witch-king of Angmar, one of the Black Riders from The Lord of the Rings. It’s not necessarily high quality literature, but it was a lot of fun, and if you’re in need of a writing prompt, I recommend it.

 

Clara arrived early, so she sat at the table for two and patiently sipped her water – she’d learned the hard way that any other drink on a first date was dangerous.

After several minutes, someone wrapped in ragged black robes approached her table. “Are you Clara?” he asked in a breathy voice.

“Yep. Who are you?”

“I am the Witch-king of Angmar. I am here to meet you.”

“Oh.” Clara stared, wide-eyed, for a moment. Her friend had told her the bloke was a bit unusual, but she hadn’t expected this. “Um, hi! Sit down, won’t you.”

“Have you ordered yet?” he asked, sitting and picking up the menu in hands covered with black gauntlets.

“No, no. I just got some, uh, water.” Clara tore her eyes away from her date’s outfit and reached for her own menu. “But I was thinking about getting the salmon.”

“That sounds excellent. I will have the same.” He waved the waitress over and placed their order and then folded his hands and looked at Clara silently.

It was a bit disconcerting.

“Can I ask: why the helmet?” she asked eventually.

“Because I am invisible. Without it you would not know where my head is.”

“Oh. How… thoughtful! So… where do you work?”

“I work for Sauron, Dark Lord of All.”

“What do you do for him?”

“Lead his army of orcs against those who would defy him. Someday all the world will be under his rule.”

“Oookay.”

“Do you work?”

“Yes, I’m a nanny for a family friend. I watch his two children. And I travel on Wednesdays.”

“Where have you gone?”

“All over the universe.”

They sat in awkward silence until their food arrived. After several minutes of eating and some generic comments on the delicious dinner, Clara tried again to start a conversation. “Do you have any hobbies?”

“No.”

“Where do you live?”

“Minas Morgul.”

“I don’t think I’ve heard of that.”

“I am not surprised.”

A pause.

“How old are you?” She was getting desperate. Her friends would be mortified.

He seemed to think for a moment. “I seem to have lost track.”

Clara took her last bite and put down her fork. The Witch-king stopped eating. “Would you like dessert?” he asked.

“No, thank you.”

He paid the bill and they walked out together, stopping when they reached Clara’s car. “May I have the pleasure of seeing you again?” the Witch-king asked.

“Well…”

He sighed. “Is it because I’m invisible?”

Relieved to have an excuse, Clara said apologetically, “It is distracting.”

“Of course. As usual. Thank you for the lovely evening.” He shook her hand and walked away sadly.

Clara stared after him. As usual?

One thought on “Blind Date

Leave a Reply

