Posted in Christianity, Life, Thoughts

No Fear

I’m one of those annoying people who goes the speed limit on the highway. You know that one car everybody zips past? Yeah, that’s probably me. You can wave as you go by; I shan’t be offended.

But once in a while, I notice that everybody is suddenly going slower than me, even though I can’t see any reason for them to be doing so.

Then I see a police car sitting in the median. Ah: the fear of authority.

I always want to tell the people around me several things:
One: By the time you see the policeman, he’s probably already seen you and how fast you were going.
Two: Suddenly drastically slowing down just makes you look guilty.
Three: YOU DON’T HAVE TO GO UNDER THE SPEED LIMIT!!!!!!!

Then I hope for an open lane so I can grin while I fearlessly zip past everyone who was speeding a moment ago.

Until we’re out of sight of the police car.

It reminds me of this Bible verse:

Would you have no fear of the one who is in authority? Then do what is good, and you will receive his approval, for he is God’s servant for your good. – Romans 13:3b-4a

One thought on “No Fear

  1. It takes some of us longer to appreciate this wisdom than others. You, young lady, are ahead of the pack…

Leave a Reply

