Posted in Christianity, Thoughts

I Have Seen Your Tears

In those days Hezekiah became sick and was at the point of death. And Isaiah the prophet the son of Amoz came to him and said to him, “Thus says the Lord, ‘Set your house in order, for you shall die; you shall not recover.’” Then Hezekiah turned his face to the wall and prayed to the Lord, saying, “Now, O Lord, please remember how I have walked before you in faithfulness and with a whole heart, and have done what is good in your sight.” And Hezekiah wept bitterly. – 2 Kings 20:1-3

In my Joshua-Esther class last semester, I had to write a lesson about a person in one of those books. I chose Hezekiah. This is my favorite part of his story. Not because he was sick and God told him he was going to die and he was crying. But because of what happens next:

And before Isaiah had gone out of the middle court, the word of the Lord came to him: “Turn back, and say to Hezekiah the leader of my people, Thus says the Lord, the God of David your father: I have heard your prayer; I have seen your tears. Behold, I will heal you. On the third day you shall go up to the house of the Lord, and I will add fifteen years to your life. I will deliver you and this city out of the hand of the king of Assyria, and I will defend this city for my own sake and for my servant David’s sake.” – 2 Kings 20:4-6

“I have seen your tears.” Isn’t that one of the most comforting statements in the Bible? Crying in public and no one noticing is one of the loneliest feelings in the world, even if there’s nothing anyone who might notice could do to help. But God saw Hezekiah’s tears even when he was crying in his bedroom. And this isn’t the only place the Bible records God’s concern for his children’s tears:

You keep track of all my sorrows.
You have collected all my tears in your bottle.
You have recorded each one in your book.
– Psalm 56:8

Depart from me, all you workers of evil,
for the
Lord has heard the sound of my weeping.
The Lord has heard my plea;
the
Lord
accepts my prayer.
– Psalm 6:8-9

He will swallow up death forever;
and the Lord God will wipe away tears from all faces,
and 
the reproach of his people he will take away from all the earth,

for the Lord has spoken.
– Isaiah 25:8

“For the Lamb in the midst of the throne will be their shepherd,
and he will guide them to springs of 
living water,
and 
God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”
– Revelation 7:17

God cares when his people cry; he cared when Hezekiah cried, and he cares when you cry today. He may change his mind about what is going to happen to you, or he may not. But either way, you can rest assured that he has seen your tears.

One thought on “I Have Seen Your Tears

Leave a Reply

