Posted in Christianity, Thoughts

Much to Hope For

“What a lovely thing a rose is!… There is nothing in which deduction is so necessary as religion,” said [Sherlock Holmes], leaning with his back against the shutters. “It can be built up as an exact science by the reasoner. Our highest assurance of the goodness of Providence seems to me to rest in the flowers. All other things, our powers, our desires, our food, are all really necessary for our existence in the first instance. But this rose is an extra. Its smell and its color are an embellishment of life, not a condition of it. It is only goodness which gives extras, and so I say again that we have much to hope from the flowers.” – From “The Adventure of the Naval Treaty” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Snow is awfully pretty, isn’t it?

Sure, it’s cold and inconvenient and can be dangerous and we appreciate it less as we get older. But one of the prettiest things in this world is when there’s snow covering the ground and trees and big, fluffy, white flakes are drifting down around you.

It didn’t have to be pretty. We didn’t need it to be pretty. It could have just been cold and inconvenient and dangerous.

But God made it pretty, too.

Like the rose, it’s an extra.

And it is only goodness which gives extras.

So I say that we have much to hope for from the snow.

2 thoughts on “Much to Hope For

  1. It is pretty. Right after Dad and I got out of the ditch Sunday morning, we drove past a large area of unbroken snow, and I commented how pretty it was. It made me think of that verse in Isaiah about “though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be made white as snow.”

  2. It is beautiful: millions of diamonds glittering all around! I can’t decide if it is more beautiful in the day or night time. Believe it or not I used to sled ride, ice skate, and enjoy being out in the snow. I’m thankful I got to live in a place with four seasons. It makes me sad that I can’t enjoy that winter fun now. It also makes me happy to be blessed to be out of it this month. Thank you for this post.

Leave a Reply

