Posted in Christianity, Thoughts

Itching Ears

For the past two summers, my allergies have been pretty bad. I have been introduced to a new symptom: itching ears. Way down deep inside where you can’t do a thing about it. Let me tell you, it’s not fun. At all.

Naturally, this brought to mind 2 Timothy 4:3-4: “For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions, and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander off into myths.”

When my ears itch, I want them fixed. I’ll ignore a stuffy nose and sneezing to some extent, but when my ears start to itch, I pretty much automatically reach for medicine. Just like the people Paul talks about, who search for people who will tell them what they want to hear because it makes them feel better.

But neither of those things address the real problem. Medicine doesn’t fix my body’s improper reaction to the world. Having people telling you what you want to hear doesn’t change the fact that it isn’t true.

I may not be able to take away my allergies, but not wanting to listen to the truth? That can be fixed. And we all need it sometimes.

Leave a Reply

