Posted in College

Oh, Look! A Distraction!

078628671162

Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so, let us all be thankful. – Gautama Buddha

So. It’s the end of the semester. It seems like most of my friends are in the middle of finals week. At my school, it’s the last week of classes. They call it dead week. It’s supposed to be an easier week so students can prepare for finals; the teachers aren’t allowed to give tests or new big assignments. The problem is that if assignments are given long enough ago, they can be due this week. So it really doesn’t do any good. If they called it dead week because everyone looks and feels kind of dead, that would be more accurate.

f0c7c616cdfab7d47b9f93c0c844a60fSo I decided I would make a post with some school-ish things for procrastination. Because we all know we’re going to be procrastinating anyway. So I might as well help.

Normally, writing this post would be a form of procrastination for me. (That’s the best kind: procrastinating by doing something else you have to do). But Friday through Monday, I did all of this week’s homework. So I’m basically done. Ish. I have classes to go to. And I have a couple short papers that replace final tests to write. But those aren’t homework. And I’m definitely not doing them today.

It feels pretty good, let me tell you. I’m enjoying it. It didn’t sink in until sometime this morning, and when it did, it was significantly easier to go to classes. Though it did make for a really busy weekend.

Here’s the first of a few videos for your amusement. I don’t recommend emulating anything in this song. Just laugh.

This one might be a slightly better idea. Just… be a little less obnoxious about it maybe?

You know things are serious when someone pulls out the Sprite.

fdb44472741cd97de4358a479e2d8b1b(<— The Avengers think you should study. You should probably listen to them. They save the world and stuff.)

So anyway, speaking of doing homework over the weekend, on Friday night I decided to order a pizza and watch End of the Spear, which I needed to write a paper about. So when it was almost time for the pizza to arrive, I pulled up Netflix, because it was available to watch instantly on there.

Key word: was. It isn’t any more. I know it was before Thanksgiving break. They couldn’t have kept it a few more weeks?

I watched Columbo instead. Then I watched the movie in the library Saturday afternoon. It was all right. But I couldn’t figure out how to turn the captions on. Which was a problem, because half the time, the Waodani were speaking in their native language. Which I kind of don’t understand at all.  So I was a little lost. But I managed to write the paper.

Now, if you want some top-notch procrastination, try Studio C. A friend and I discovered them during finals of last semester. Then proceeded to spend the next few days watching every video in existence. Not, of course, that I’m exactly recommending that. But believe me, it’s a lot of fun. They’re funny, they don’t swear, and they wear clothes. What more can you ask for?

f9045b143ddb85409eca617c9ab71286My social club is having a party tonight. I felt like I should want to go, but I didn’t. So I decided not to. It’s not that I don’t like the people. I just felt like staying in my room and reading and writing and watching Doctor Who instead. I haven’t yet accomplished any of that. But I will. After dinner.

This post is getting long. And I’m getting hungry. So I shall leave you with one more quote (that hopefully this post has demonstrated) and one more picture (as my mom said, hopefully this person’s exam does not have to do with the proper use of apostrophes).

Without education, we are in a horrible and deadly danger of taking educated people seriously. – G. K. Chesterton

d36d002dcf401a779778a093b428966b

Leave a Reply

