Posted in Writings

Things I Learned This NaNoWriMo

No, NaNoWriMo isn’t over. Neither is my story. But both are close enough that I can do this post.

  • I can write 2,000 words in an hour. If I close Facebook so I’m not constantly checking for notifications, put on some music, and just type, I can consistently get 2,000 words or more in an hour. Now, they aren’t always the best words, but the point of NaNoWriMo is to write something, not to write something wonderful, so that’s okay. I don’t love this way of writing – I prefer sitting down with a notebook and my favorite pencil – but it’s sensible for NaNo-ing during college.
  • Even when I don’t have plans for the story, things happen. Usually I have a specific end that I’m working towards. This year, I knew the first two scenes, and that was pretty much it. I had no idea what the ending would be, much less the plot. But every day, when I sat down to write, things happened. Sometimes those things had me thinking, “Wait, why is this happening? Characters, what are you doing? This isn’t at all related to the semi-existent plot! What’s going on?!” But at least it was something.
  • I need to start with a more constructed plot in mind. As I said, I had no idea what was going to happen in this story. Result: no one is going to read it. Ever. Unless I start from the beginning and completely rewrite it. I love my main character, and there are hints of a decent plot, but that’s it. For the most part, it’s extremely discombobulated. So I apologize if for some reason you were hoping to read this story, because that’s not happening.
  • If your main character is a lot like you, they’re likely to end up with a lot of your problems. Then you feel guilty. But not guilty enough to stop. Alternatively, you can cackle evilly, rub your hands together, and enjoy torturing your character. That’s more fun.

I didn’t enjoy NaNoWriMo as much this year as I have before, but I’m still glad I did it. And I’ve already reached 50,000 words!

2 thoughts on “Things I Learned This NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

