Posted in Life, Thoughts

Differences

I write to be the characters that I am not – Joss Whedon

One of the first things we did on the ride back from World Mission Workshop was go around the bus and say one thing we took away from it. One person mentioned the class that I had thought was the most boring, unorganized, and uninspiring class I went to.

During that conversation, someone else said they hate how our school is so small. That’s one of my favorite things about it.

In my Joshua-Esther class, we recently covered David’s life. One of my friends in that class really likes Joab, the commander of David’s army. I don’t like him at all.

There are people who like my least favorite teachers and people who dislike my favorite teachers.

Sometimes I wonder: What is up with these people?

But you know…

The main character in the Maximum Ride series is someone I would find really obnoxious in real life. But because the story is from her perspective, I can have sympathy for her, and even like her.

A couple friends persuaded me to watch The Avengers. The first time I did so, I couldn’t stand Iron Man; he was kind of a jerk. I still think he’s a jerk, but I’ve grown to appreciate him and see that even he has his good points.

Last spring, I wrote a short story that was mainly about a character who could probably technically be classified as a villain. He’s one of my favorite characters I’ve ever created. He had to die at the end, and I cried.

One of the main characters in the story I’m going to be writing for NaNoWriMo is a girl I don’t understand at all. She’s somewhat of a feminist. She’s outgoing to the point of being annoying sometimes. I think she’s into modern art (which might be the scariest thing). But I’m sure we’ll end up getting along fine, even if we don’t understand each other.

I think one of the best things about fiction is that when it’s done correctly, it can give you appreciation for people who aren’t like you. It can help you learn to see others more like God does. You realize that just because someone is completely different than you, that doesn’t mean you can’t like and love them.

Leave a Reply

