Posted in Writings

Stopping by a Cheese Shop While Walking My Dog in the City on a Quiet Night

This poem is a parody of Robert Frost’s “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening”. It was inspired (a couple years ago, I think) by a conversation with some friends on the G. K. Chesterton quote, “Poets have been mysteriously silent on the subject of cheese.”

Whose cheese this is I think I know.
He is away on business though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his cheese with eyes aglow.

My little dog must think it queer
To stop without a hydrant near
Between the clothes and frozen cakes
The slowest evening of the year.

He gives his floppy ears a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the beeps
My cell phone and my pager make.

The cheese is lovely, sharp, and cheap.
But I have promises to keep,
And lots to do before I sleep,
And lots to do before I sleep.

One thought on “Stopping by a Cheese Shop While Walking My Dog in the City on a Quiet Night

  1. Hmmm… Lots to do; promises… I wonder what those might be. A response to the cell phone message, I suspect. Maybe you should write another verse to give us a hint.

Leave a Reply

