Posted in College, Life

Seven Classes

For those of you who read my blog to keep up with me while I’m away at college, here is an overview of the classes I’m taking this semester.

History of the Church
This class actually might be called History of Christianity. I can never remember, and I don’t feel like looking. But it means the same thing. Anyway, it’s with a teacher I’ve had before, and his classes are always easy. I likely won’t have to take the final, which is always nice, although it makes it very hard to care for the last couple weeks.

Biological Psychology
I think this one will get very interesting, but at the moment we’re studying the structure of the brain and neurons and such things. Necessary to set up the rest, but kind of boring, as I’ve had it several times before. But at least I shouldn’t have too much trouble learning this part. Again, I’ve had the teacher before, and I like him.

Joshua – Esther
This class is with my favorite teacher. I thought I wasn’t going to have him this semester, which would have been very sad, but when I signed up for classes, the teacher for this one hadn’t been assigned, and he ended up teaching it, to my great joy. It’s not going to be hard; mostly it will just be busywork. I’m looking forward to going through Judges; that’s one of my favorite Old Testament books.

Children’s Ministry
So far, this class has only met once. It only meets Monday nights (for almost three hours). The first week we didn’t start until Wednesday. The second week we had Labor Day off. So yesterday was our first meeting, and we actually didn’t go very long because the teacher needed to go to the funeral home. But it seems like it’s going to be interesting. Next week, my college’s president, who wrote the book we’re using for the class, is going to come speak. I’m kind of wondering if there’s a tactful way to ask him to sign my book…

Personal Spiritual Development
I like the books we’re using for this class. Also, the teacher has us start each class with three minutes of silence, which I quite like. There’s a lot of homework. Mostly very short, easy things, but still stuff to do. But overall, I think I’m going to like the class.

Walking for Health and Fitness
As I’m sure you can imagine, this class is very stimulating. (Actually, no. That was sarcasm.) It’s a bit boring. But that’s okay. I can put on my headphones and listen to music, so usually it’s fine. Today, however, it was very, very hot. Not too fun.

Global Missions Awareness
The man who teaches Personal Spiritual Development also teaches this class, though I think it’s the first time he’s done so. Our book, despite being sort of a history book, is actually very interesting because it’s also sort of a biography of different missionaries. It’s well written, and I enjoy reading it. However, twice I’ve found mistakes in dates, and we’re only through chapter three. Not because I knew what the correct date was, but because there would be multiple dates mentioned about one person that covered an impossible span of time. You’d think an editor would catch that…

And that’s it (at last). I don’t think I’m going to have any classes I hate this semester, but I don’t think I’m going to have any I love, either.

2 thoughts on “Seven Classes

  1. I like reading this every semester so I know what your classes are like. And, yes, walking yesterday would have been really hot. And, yes, (again) you’d think an editor would catch those dates. See you next weekend.

  2. I love that you don’t have any classes that you hate! In my opinion any author is happy to sign their books. It’s a high complement. can you believe it Zella, I’m still picking chicken feathers out of my hair. Have a good week..

Leave a Reply

