Posted in Life

This Week’s War

War must be, while we defend our lives against a destroyer who would devour all; but I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend. – J. R. R. Tolkien

I first became aware of the invasion Sunday morning as soon as I was conscious enough to process the information. But it had to start before that. Saturday? Friday? Who knows?

I can’t fathom what I did to attract this particular enemy. I did not purposely antagonize it, but I must have done something, for it has been attacking with a vengeance. So there’s been nothing to do but fight.

It has been mostly a defensive war fought with the weapons scattered among my belongs. It’s taken all my energy, so things like classes that insist on intruding are exhausting. But I’ve still gone. My laundry may suffer, but my grades will stand firm! *Places fist over heart and stares dramatically into the distance*

Although the enemy’s attacks have intensified each day, I have no doubt that I will conquer. This time next week, I will most likely be victorious.

Ok, really, this enemy isn’t anything more deadly than a common cold. My weapons have been kleenex and Zicam, and possibly some NyQuil tonight. But that doesn’t sound nearly as interesting, does it?

3 thoughts on “This Week’s War

Leave a Reply

