Posted in Christianity, Thoughts

Dressing Little Girls

This Sunday after church, I was walking up the stairs at the building behind a group of about five middle-school-aged girls. One wore pants, and the rest had on skirts. Not one of those skirts even came to their knees.

For one thing, I don’t know how they do it. It was a mild day for February, I happened to have on an ankle-length skirt, and I was still cold. But I digress.

A few of these skirts in particular I could not even stretch (no pun intended) to imagine how they could be considered appropriate (and I have a good imagination).

Some people might say, “But they’re only girls still. It’s not a big deal.” Though I have reservations about such a statement, for argument’s sake, let’s say it’s true.

What about in a few years when suddenly they have the body of a woman instead of a little girl – and the boys they’re around all day at school have grown up, too? Does it matter now? Call me old fashioned, but I think it matters very much.

What’s going to happen then? Some of their parents at least are likely to decide that they don’t want their beautiful daughters getting the attention that such outfits are likely to encourage. All of the sudden the rules are going to change – just when kids have a tendency to get extra stubborn. If I may hazard a guess, I’m going to say that such a move is not likely to go over well, and the parents are probably going to end up with a big fight on their hands.

But what else could they expect? If they didn’t encourage their daughters to be thoughtful about what their clothes say about them when they were little, such a concept is going to be completely foreign and baffling.

Please do not misunderstand me. I am not saying these girls are horrible people. I am not saying their parents are horrible people. But as Christians, I think we are really doing our young girls a disservice. Maybe it’s cute when they’re tiny. But there comes a day when a skirt that contains practically no fabric matters. So why do we let them grow up thinking it’s no big deal?

One thought on “Dressing Little Girls

Leave a Reply

