Posted in College

Classes

This semester, I’m taking…

Creative Writing I think I’m going to like this class, though I’m not yet sure what to think of the teacher. She has a tendency to get off track. But I’ve enjoyed the writing assignments so far. I’m not sure how good my stuff has actually been, but I’ve liked it.

Intro to Biblical Languages This is my only class with my favorite teacher this semester, and I have a good friend taking it with me. It’s going to be lots of fun I think. You should have heard the noises we were making trying to learn how to pronounce Greek letters the past few days. And already I’ve learned things that made me go, “Ha! Something from Scripture Interpretation class makes sense now!”

Family Systems I think this class is going to be very interesting. We had a pop quiz the second class. Hearing the reactions, I kind of felt like Iron Man from The Avengers: “Am I the only one that did the reading?” Even having done the reading, it was kind of a tough quiz. When I first glanced at it, I had no idea what the answer was for four of the five questions. But I managed to figure out all but one of them, so I don’t think that was too bad.

Christian Thought I’ve had the teacher who teaches this class before, and I really liked him, but I’ve heard many mixed reports about the class. It seems people either love it or hate it. It’s all right so far. The book is a bit hard to understand, but insightful. And I’m currently way ahead on homework. I’ve never done that before, and it feels pretty cool.

Ministerial Counseling I think this class is going to take the most thought, but I don’t think it’s going to be extremely hard. The teacher is new to me, but I really like him already. He’s able to keep the students focused and serious – and having been in class with that group before, I can tell you that this is impressive.

Bible Lands and Ways This class reminds me of homeschooling. That’s an awkward way to describe it, I suppose, but it’s true. It’s a new class, for the teacher, at least; I don’t know if the school has had it before. So he has few set ideas of what he wants the class to be about (aside from the obvious). He has had the students contribute ideas of what they want to learn and talk about, and I get the feeling that he will be learning a lot of it with us. He is having everyone do a research project, but it’s not a typical, *insert deep voice* “Go read lots of books and write a long paper,” *back to normal voice* research project. He seems to want more project than research, if that makes any sense. He didn’t give any guidelines, except that we have to run our idea by him before we do it. I’m going to be studying ancient Israelite clothing styles and making a recreation of a typical outfit. I’m kind of excited.

3 thoughts on “Classes

  1. Looks to me like you’re going to have a great semester. I’m really interested in the clothing project. What fibers would theyhave used, how would they have made the cloth? I’m glad you don’t have far to walk for class. Have a good week. Do you want me to bring you somem air potatoes?

    1. I think they mainly used wool, but I haven’t done much reading yet.
      I’m glad, too! Just the short walk between the buildings is chilling.
      No, thank you. I think we’ll probably survive without air potatoes. :D

Leave a Reply

