Posted in Life

My Current Favorite Songs

I know it’s Thanksgiving week, but everybody is going to be writing about things they are thankful for this week, and sometimes a person needs to be a bit different. Perhaps I will write about that next week. So I went through a ton of writing prompts, and finally decided on this one.

I don’t actually have a favorite song. Officially it’s The Call by Regina Spektor, but practically it fluctuates quite frequently. Usually it’s a song I’ve recently discovered or rediscovered. You can often get a good idea if you look at the bottom of the list of the music bookmarks on my browser. So, not in any particular order, here are the songs I currently tend to put on repeat.

When Can I See You Again – Owl City
Joined at the hip, yeah, your sidekick needs you.
Life is a trip and the road map leads you….
It been fun but now I’ve got to go.
Life is way too short to take it slow.
But before I go and hit the road,
I gotta know, till then
When can we do this again?
When can I see you again?
This song is in the credits of the new Disney movie Wreck-It Ralph, which a friend and I went and saw last Monday. I liked the movie a lot more than I expected to; it was quite adorable. But anyway, this song sums up the way I always feel after doing something with one of my closest friends. They all live somewhat far away from me, so we’re never sure when we’ll get to be together again, but I always want to know and want it to be soon.

Safe and Sound – Taylor Swift
I remember tears streaming down your face
When I said, “I’ll never let you go,”
When all those shadows almost killed your light.
I remember you said, “Don’t leave me here alone,”
But all that’s dead and gone and passed tonight.
Just close your eyes,
The sun is going down.
You’ll be alright,
No one can hurt you now.
Come morning light,
You and I’ll be safe and sound.
I think this song was written for The Hunger Games movie, but I like it just by itself. It’s so pretty and sad sounding, even though the words aren’t necessarily sad. I’ve decided it’s the theme song for my NaNoWriMo novel.

Begin Again – Taylor Swift
And you throw your head back laughing like a little kid.
I think it’s strange that you think I’m funny ’cause he never did.
I’ve been spending the last eight months
Thinking all love ever does

Is break and burn and end,
But on a Wednesday in a café
I watched it begin again.

This song is so sweet and adorable and happy. It satisfies my inner hopeless romantic.

Goodnight my Angel – Celtic Woman
Goodnight my angel,
Time to close your eyes
And save these questions for another day.
I think I know what you’ve been asking me,
I think you know what I’ve been trying to say.
I promised I would never leave you,
And you should always know,
I never will be far away.

I know this is not the original version of this song, but it was the one I learned (or at least took notice of) first, so it’s my favorite. It is so soothing and relaxing.

Leave a Reply

