Posted in College, Life, Thoughts

Wanted

Wanted: Hard worker for challenging job. Will only need to be at work for about 17 hours a week, but must be willing to work on job-related projects during most of the rest of their time. No benefits such as health insurance are offered. There is no pay, either; in fact, except in a few instances of exceptional talent, you will have to pay us for the privilege of working for us. Living on the job site is recommended, though not required.

An advertisement for a job like this would not get many responders; of that I am positive. Yet this is what colleges ask from their students. College really is a 24/7 job that you don’t get paid for. Yes, it might make it more likely that you’ll have a better job in the future, but that’s not terribly comforting when you’re in the middle of it.

Recently, the government has decided that students should be doing two hours worth of work outside of class for every hour they spend in class. (I could probably write a whole post on that; I think it’s as ridiculous as saying everyone should wear the same size clothes. But that’s not my point here.) Let’s say you’re taking 12 credit hours, which at my college is the minimum you can take and be considered a full time student. That means you spend twelve hours in class a week, so you should be spending 24 hours a week doing homework and studying. That’s 36 hours – almost the equivalent of a normal work week.

And most people take more like 16 or 17 credit hours. Some people get up to 21 (eek!). That means we could be getting paid a lot of overtime!

If this all sounds a bit bitter, it probably is. I’ve had a long semester. And it’s not over. *Sigh*

I’m pretty sure there were other things I was planning to say in this post. But I can’t seem to remember any of them. So I guess it will suffice as it is; I have homework to do.

2 thoughts on “Wanted

  1. The end is in sight! I remember feeling exactly the same way. The first semester of my junior year I was ready to chuck the whole thing, but your dad kept me going, and I made it through that semester. After that, things seemed better. See you soon!

  2. Hang in there sweetheart. Things will get better. Just take it one day at a time and try not to look to far ahead. See you soon. Love Dad.

Leave a Reply

