Posted in College, Life, Writings

It’s November!

You know what that means, right? And no, I’m not talking about Thanksgiving. Or the election. Or even the wonders of Thanksgiving break. It’s NaNoWriMo!

NaNoWriMo is that month when thousands of people attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  (That equals about 1,667 words or about three pages a day if you were wondering.) Yeah, they’re probably all a bit insane – if not at the beginning of the month, then certainly by the end.

I, however, have actually felt somewhat more sane since November started. Not that I’ve had less to do (since I certainly have not; writing 1,667 takes up a decent chunk of one’s day). Maybe it’s that more of what I need to do is actually stuff I want to do now. But I don’t really have time to analyze it too closely.

Anyway, my novel this year is a retelling of Rapunzel. ‘Cept it’s not a romance. (You can all gasp in shock now; the stories in my head that do not involve romance are very few and far between.) I had the idea one night after I had just finished reading a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I settled on Rapunzel partly because I am not aware of many Rapunzel-like stories (though I’m sure they exist) and partly because Tangled is my favorite movie, so I have a fondness for this particular fairy tale.

I’m currently a day ahead in my word count (or I will be when I finish today’s). Since I’ve been really busy, I decided to do double the first day so that I would have a cushion. I might possibly have stayed up until two in the morning to get the first 1,667 words…

Overall, it’s going pretty well.  I’ve been having quite a few ideas. That’s a good thing because I didn’t have much planned out. It’s a bad thing because they all occur near the end, and I’m nowhere near that yet. The jury is still out on whether or not to include a dragon.

So if you see me sitting at my laptop typing furiously with my eyes closed, chalk it up to NaNoWriMo and offer chocolate.

4 thoughts on “It’s November!

  1. I’d offer you chocolate if I could. Is there a Trader Joe’s near you? They got some delish dark choco with caramel inside. Nom… Best of luck on your Rapunzel retelling. Sounds like you’re making great progress!

Leave a Reply

