Posted in Life

Puzzling

It is one of man’s curious idiosyncrasies to create difficulties for the pleasure of resolving them. – Joseph de Maistre

I love puzzles – the bigger, the better, for the most part. It started (sort of) with getting a chicken-shaped one for Christmas one year, though at the time I wasn’t terribly interested and my dad did most of the work. But then I started thinking about it again awhile later, and now you could probably call me addicted. Puzzles are one of the things I miss while I’m away at school.

But anyway, I am currently working on a 2,000 piece one. I found it at a yard sale or something a few years ago, and it’s been languishing on top of the piano ever since because it’s too big to fit on my normal puzzle spot in the basement. I had to confiscate the dining room table, so we’ve been eating at one end of it for most of the past two weeks.

It’s not quite as far along as I would like. That’s partly because it got put away for a few days because we had company and needed the table, but it’s also partly because it is a rather difficult puzzle. I don’t know if you can tell from the small pictures, but the pieces are all oddly shaped. There’s hardly a normal one among them. The pattern – stained glass – doesn’t help either.

I am quite enjoying this one. I hoped to have it done before my brother came back from camp, but since I’m leaving in the morning and won’t be back until he is, I guess that isn’t going to happen.

2 thoughts on “Puzzling

  1. I fiddled with it for a few minutes after you left but promptly gave up. It’s way beyond the usual jigsaw puzzle. I’m just hoping you finish it before you go back to school, LOL!

  2. I’m amazed! I like ones with 500 pieces and ones that aren’t too hard. My Favorite one is a map of middle earth. It’s two sided. Map on one side which is not too hard and the art work of Bilbo floating down the river on a barrel on the other side, which is almost impossible. I do the map side, then pick it up, flip it over to the painting side. Is that cheating?

Leave a Reply

