Posted in Life, Thoughts

‘Nack Time?

If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. – J. R. R. Tolkien

Personally, I greatly value food. I always have. When I was five and my mom took me to visit the preschool I was going to go to, I liked it, but for some reason (I don’t actually remember this, so I can’t tell you why), I announced that I wasn’t going back. Mom started listing all the fun things I could do, but I turned down each one. Until…
“And you’ll have snack time…”
” ‘Nack time?”
“Yes.”
“Every day?”
“Every day.”
I went to preschool.

I rarely worry about what I eat. I try not to be excessive, but for the most part I figure that if God decides it’s time for me to die, it’s not going to matter if I at a piece of cake the night before. And really, how many people have said, “Oh, how I wish I had gone on that diet!” on their deathbed?

There are very few things I won’t eat. Cottage cheese tops the list. I was traumatized by the stuff as a child, and it would take a lot of convincing to get me to eat it again. Generally, however, I love trying new things. I’ve eaten escargot, chocolate chip cookies with crickets (mainly for bragging rights, but they were actually pretty good), lamb, watermelon soup… All sorts of things. There is no way I could pick a favorite food. There are just too many delicious things.

It’s a good thing dinner is in the oven, because I’m making myself hungry!

Leave a Reply

