Posted in Thoughts

Proverbs

As I mentioned a couple weeks ago, I’ve read through Proverbs several times already this year. Since I didn’t know what to write about this week, I thought I’d share a few of the most interesting Proverbs I’ve discovered. (These are all from the English Standard Version unless otherwise marked.)

The memory of the righteous is a blessing,
but the name of the wicked will rot.
– Proverbs 10:7
I certainly want my memory to be a blessing.

Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down,
but a good word makes him glad.
– Proverbs 12:25
Don’t you love it when you’re having a bad day and someone says something in passing that makes everything so much better? :)

A friend loves at all times,
and a brother is born for adversity.
– Proverbs 17:17

A good name is to be chosen rather than great riches,
and favor is better than silver or gold.
– Proverbs 22:1

Fret not yourself because of evildoers,
and be not envious of the wicked,
for the evil man has no future;
the lamp of the wicked will be put out.
– Proverbs 24:19, 20
I find this one very comforting. (Unless you’re the evildoer.)

It is the glory of God to conceal a matter;
to search out a matter is the glory of kings.
– Proverbs 25:2 (NIV)
I think this one relates best to science. Think of all the amazing discoveries that have been made in recent years. I wonder how many more are out there that God is smiling about and saying, “Wait until you see this one!”

Let another praise you, and not your own mouth;
a stranger, and not your own lips.
– Proverbs 27:2

Whoever blesses his neighbor with a loud voice,
rising early in the morning,
will be counted as cursing.
– Proverbs 27:14
This one makes me laugh.

Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
Give her the fruit of her hands,
and let her works praise her in the gates.
– Proverbs 31:30, 31
We all know the first part, but I think we tend to forget about the second.

One thought on “Proverbs

Leave a Reply

