Posted in Thoughts

Forgotten Precious Books

Books to the ceiling,
Books to the sky,
My pile of books is a mile high.
How I love them! How I need them!
I’ll have a long beard by the time I read them.
– Arnold Lobel

Ahh... So many wonderful books.

When I was cleaning out my closet over spring break, I discovered a poem I had copied into a notebook called The List by Naomi Shihab Nye (the title of this post is a line from the poem). It talks about a man who had made a list of all the books he was going to read in his life, and about the author’s sadness for the books he might find later and neglect.

Poor Rapunzel. She only had three books.

I pity people who don’t like to read. In books, you can do so many things you can’t do in real life. You can listen to Sherlock Holmes rattle off your history the first time he meets you. You can walk into a wardrobe – and in, and in, and in. You can meet pretty much any historical figure. You can talk to kings and peasants, Jesus and Robin Hood, Anne of Green Gables and Samwise Gamgee. Books can take you anywhere; cliché, I know, but true.

Yes. I do this.

I pretty much always have at least one book with me. I read at meals. I read while walking down the hall. I read at work. I read before class. Sometimes I read during computer class while waiting for other people to catch up (which the teacher is fine with, in case you’re wondering). I have way too many books on my t0-read list. I work in the library and want to be a librarian.

I wish everyone realized how wonderful reading can be.

5 thoughts on “Forgotten Precious Books

  1. I do! I do! I’m reading The Tale of Castle Cottage by Susan Wittig Albert. It’s about Beatrix Potter and her life all mixed in with badgers and rabbits and well, it’s unusual to say the least. A mixture of reality and fantasy. A good combination all around. Have a good week and don’t bump into anything as you read while you walk.

  2. Sharing a love of books with you and your brother is one of the biggest joys of motherhood for me. I’m so glad you love books! Just don’t read while you drive!

  3. I think most people shy away from books because it’s such an active, effort-oriented behavior. Many would much rather prefer to passively learn, to have information fed to them. Even audio books, as much as I love them for multitasking purposes, do not engage the mind in the same way. It is an unfortunate truth. Bradbury was afraid that people would not read books because they would not be allowed to. Huxley was afraid they would not read books because they would not want to. The way things are going it seems Huxley was right.

  4. I love books! and I can’t go anywhere without one. The few times I have (just running down stairs to pick up the newspaper), I’ve regretted it.

    And the age old question – what book do I bring?? Thank God for Kindles. Yet even then, I pack a dozen books anway. :waldo:

    Reflecting on religiousgamer’s thoughts, to quote Chesterton, “There is a great deal of difference between an eager man who wants to read a book and a tired man who wants a book to read.”

Leave a Reply

