Posted in Thoughts

Life After NaNoWriMo

You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a club. – Jack London

I did it! I wrote 50, 000 words in November (as you can see from the picture on the side bar if you scroll down a bit), and I even finished a day early. The story is not finished (though it’s already the longest I’ve written) – in fact, I was just getting to the exciting part – but I have not opened the document on my computer since I crossed the 50,000 word mark on November 29th. I’m planning to finish the story over Christmas break. and then edit it over the next few months. Because it needs a LOT of editing! Some of the plot is still questionable, and I’m sure there are a million typos. But I am determined to edit it, because I can get five free copies of my book since I “won” NaNoWriMo, and I don’t want to lose that opportunity!

Life has been a lot easier since November ended. I actually have time to do things other than homework and writing. Like sleeping. (I was exhausted by the second week of November, but I kept telling myself that I would remember finishing much more than I would remember getting enough sleep.) In fact, a week later, there are still times I don’t know what to do with myself! It’s been pretty nice. It’s also kind of strange, though, not constantly thinking about how many more words I need for the day, what should happen next, and whether I can make it.

However, despite the lack of sleep during November, I am glad I did it. I learned the truth of the quote at the beginning of this post, which I never completely believed before. Even if I don’t feel like it, I really can find at least 1,667 words in my brain each day. (And 1,667 is not as words many as it sounds.) They may not be impressive words, but they’re better than nothing!

Will I do NaNoWriMo again next year? I think so. At least, if I can find another idea that shows a bit of promise!

5 thoughts on “Life After NaNoWriMo

  1. You can get five this year?! It was only one last year. No way can I miss this opportunity. o.o I need to start editing…

  2. Way to go Zella! I guess we’ll call you “Miss Verbose”. Good luck on your finals and we look forward to Christmas with you.

  3. Zella, I’m proud of you. I have two books in y head, but I’ve never gotten them down on paper. You’ve got what it takes to actually do it. Enjoy your holiday!

Leave a Reply

