Posted in Writings

NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month. It takes place in November, and thousands of writers across the world attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in thirty days.

Crazy! Insane! Preposterous! Right?

Yep. Just like me.

I first heard of NaNoWriMo two years ago. At that time and last year I fiddled with the idea of participating, but both times I didn’t feel inspired at all, so I decided not to. However, this year when the subject came up again, I had been playing with a story idea I liked. It was not a new idea, but it was one of my favorites, so I decided to give NaNoWriMo a try. It’s called A Good Reward, and this is the synopsis:

Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up! Again, if two lie together, they keep warm, but how can one keep warm alone? And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him—a threefold cord is not quickly broken.
-Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Kierlim Academy’s teaching methods are anything but conventional, but they work. That’s why the country’s elite are willing to pay a fortune for their children to be one of the thirty chosen for admission each year. When Derrick Bowman and Lynette Drace are chosen to work together for the next four years, they aren’t exactly thrilled; they can’t seem to find any common ground. Derrick is the son of a wealthy and successful – but unethical – ambassador, while Lynette grew up extremely poor until a distant relative of her father died. He is reserved, tough, and logical. She is shy, sweet, and uncertain. But they’re both smart, they both love the outdoors, and they discover a shared passion for peppermints, so as time passes, their friendship grows. However, so does a sense of unease. Something is happening at Kierlim. Something is wrong. When they unexpectedly find themselves wrestling with the heart of the danger, their lives are shattered. As they face Derrick’s past, Lynette’s fears, and a foe more cunning than they could ever have imagined, will they pull each other through, or will their friendship – and their country – crumble?

The synopsis turned out pretty well if I do say so myself, but my plot is still rather shaky, and I only have about six characters named. But the point of NaNoWriMo is to make you just write, no matter how horrible it is, so that is what I will try to do. I think this month is going to consist of homework, writing, and hopefully a little sleep!

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. This sounds alot more exciting than the book I’m reading now. Go for it. I love your writing. Can’t wait to read it. Have a great week!

  2. Does sound like an awesome story. I’ll definitely be one to read whatever you write – if you eventually share. Good luck with writing all those words!

    -ls

Leave a Reply

